Monte Casoli is sited at 1300 meters asl, northwest of Bomarzo. It is crossed by the homonymous ditch on the southern side and the Vezza Creek in the north. The area is one of the famous pagi, villages that formerly populated
the route that connected the Viterbo outback to the Tiber.
The land’s Etruscan origins can easily be noticed thanks to the great number of stoneworks that occupies the area. In the past, the cavities on the southwestern side were presumably burials that were subsequently englobed in a medieval castle and turned into dwellings or shelters for livestock.
Another series of tuff caves were placed outside the castle walls and feature small squared and sloping cells (the so-called colombai).
The Bosco del Serraglio and the Selve di Malano, which together with Monte Casoli represent a unique historical-artistic itinerary, are rich in Roman epoch testimonies. The ideal contiguity among these adjoining sites is evident not only in the finishing of the funerary monuments but also in the epigraphs carved on them. It is probably in Roman times that the territory was organized in a more efficient road network.
As time passed, Monte Casoli became a typical medieval fort, built up with abundant recycling of preexisting building materials.
Some stretches of walls, ceilings, the eastern entrance, and the ancient track that linked the fortress with the ditch and the old Roman road are what remains of the castle nowadays. Unfortunately, in the 1950s part of the rooms
was demolished for reasons unknown.
As in many other cases, it is a Christian construction that has survived throughout the centuries. The Chiesa di S. Maria in Montecasoli is made up of two older buildings, the smaller of which features a typical medieval bricklaying composition placed next to a rock tomb that boats traces of a Christian fresco known as the Madonna che Fila.